Comments Off on After SS14: Kopecký´s win, narrowly.

Jan Kopecký won the Canon Mecsek Rallye by the smallest margin in the history of the Intercontinental Rally Challenge. One final push by Team Peugeot Belgium-Luxembourg´s Thierry Neuville proved not quite enough, and in the final reckoning Neuville finished second to the ŠKODA Motorsport driver by just 0.8s.
It was a valiant effort by Neuville in the final 17.70km stage, beating Kopecký’s time of 8m33.7s by 7.3s.
IRC:Kopecký 's win.
“This was great race,” said Kopecký. “Andreas [Mikkelsen] was very fast and he deserved to win. It was difficult rally, very tricky. The car was perfect, thanks to the team and ŠKODA.”

Freddy Loix finished third, 1m00.0s behind Kopecký but with 35.6s in hand over Peugeot France’s Bryan Bouffier.

“It was not very good weekend,” said Bouffier, “but the car worked well and we have good points.”

György Aschenbrenner took IRC Production Cup honours, stepping up his pace in the final stage to defend sixth place overall from the resurgent Toni Gardemeister, who has enjoyed a trouble-free run this afternoon after losing time with a misfire in the morning.

Overall positions after SS14

1 Jan Kopecký/Petr Starý (ŠKODA Fabia S2000) 2h00m06.7s
2 Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (Peugeot 207 S2000) +0.8s
3 Freddy Loix/Frédéric Miclotte (ŠKODA Fabia S2000) +1m.00.0s
4 Bryan Bouffier/Xavier Panseri (Peugeot 207 S2000) +1m35.6s
5 Hermann Gassner Jnr/Timo Gottschalk (ŠKODA Fabia S2000) +2m35.6s
6 György Aschenbrenner/Pikó Zsuzsa (Ralliart Lancer Evo IX) 2m38.2s
7 Toni Gardemeister/Tapio Suominen (ŠKODA Fabia S2000) +3m05.6s
8 Róbert Bútor/Igor Bacigál (Peugeot 207 S2000) 3m16.8s
9 Bruno Magalhães/Paulo Grave (Peugeot 207 S2000) +3m51.7s
10 Beppo Harach/Andreas Schindlbacher (Ralliart Lancer Evo IX) 4m14.0s

Similar Posts:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments are closed.