The sun came out for us.

Posted: 27th March 2012 by admin in Formula 1
Tags: , , ,
Comments Off on The sun came out for us.

Luca di Montezemolo is relishing Fernando Alonso’s first win of the season, saying it confirms his status as an “extraordinary” driver. Ferrari win Sepang

Alonso overcame the deficits of his F2012, his lowly P8 on the grid and the tying wet conditions to claim a massive and much-needed victory for the beleaguered Ferrari team.

The Spaniard, who leads the Drivers’ standings by five points over Lewis Hamilton, met with the Ferrari president on Monday with the Italian taking the opportunity to praise his driver.

“I am very happy about this victory: it rained in Sepang, but in the end the sun came out for us!” di Montezemolo told the team’s website.

“Once again, Fernando drove an exceptional race, confirming his status as an extraordinary driver, from every point of view.

“I am also very pleased for Stefano Domenicali and all his people who got a nice reward for doing a perfect job on track, from the strategy to the pit stops to the car preparation.

“There is still a lot of work to do, but this win is a further shot in the arm that was much needed at a time like this.”


Malaysian Grand Prix – race results:

1. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari 56 laps – 2h 44:51.812
2. Sergio Perez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari + 2.2s
3. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes + 14.5s
4. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull Racing-Renault + 17.6s
5. Kimi Räikkönen Finland Lotus-Renault + 29.4s
6. Bruno Senna Brazil Williams-Renault + 37.6s
7. Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes + 44.4s
8. Jean-Eric Vergne France STR-Ferrari + 46.9s
9. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Force India-Mercedes + 47.8s
10. Michael Schumacher Germany Mercedes + 49.9s
11. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull Racing-Renault + 75.5s
12. Daniel Ricciardo Australia STR-Ferrari + 76.8s
13. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes + 78.5s
14. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes + 79.7s
15. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari + 97.3s
16. Vitaly Petrov Russia Caterham-Renault + 1 lap
17. Timo Glock Germany Marussia-Cosworth + 1 lap
18. Heikki Kovalainen Finland Caterham-Renault + 1 lap
19. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault + 2 laps
20. Charles Pic France Marussia-Cosworth + 2 laps
21. Narain Karthikeyan India HRT-Cosworth + 2 laps
22. Pedro de la Rosa Spain HRT-Cosworth + 2 laps

Similar Posts:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments are closed.